Smurfit Kappa - Board committees

Board Committees


The Board has established 4 committees: the Audit, the Remuneration, the Nominations and the Sustainability Committee.

The responsibilities of each of the Audit, Remuneration, Nomination and Sustainability Committees are set out clearly in written terms of reference, which have been approved by the Board.

Appointments to these committees are for an initial period of 3 years, with potential for re-appointment for 2 further 3-year terms, subject to approval by the Board.

Audit Committee

The Audit Committee, chaired by Carol Fairweather, comprises 4 non-executive Directors.

  • ML. Ferguson-McHugh 
  • J. Lawrence
  • L. Melgar

Of these, Carol Fairweather and James Lawrence have recent and relevant financial experience.  The Committee met 6 times during 2022. The Group Chief Executive Officer, the Group Chief Financial Officer, the Group Internal Auditor, the Group Compliance Manager, and senior members of the finance team normally attend meetings of the Committee. The external auditors also attend and together with the Group Internal Auditor have direct access to the Committee Chair at all times.

Download Policy – SKG Audit Committee Terms of reference

The Remuneration Committee

The Remuneration Committee chaired by Jørgen Buhl Rasmussen comprises 3 non-executive Directors

  • C. Fairweather
  • ML. Ferguson-McHugh

The Committee met 6 times during 2022. The Group Chief Executive Officer normally attends the meetings and the Group V.P. Human Resources attends when appropriate.

Download Policy – SKG Remuneration Committee Terms of reference

The Nomination Committee

The Nominations Committee chaired by Anne Anderson comprises 5 non-executive Directors. The Committee met 6 times during 2022.

  • F. Beurskens
  • I. Finan
  • J. Lawrence
  • K. Hietala 

Download Policy – SKG Nominations Committee Terms of reference

The Sustainability Committee

The Sustainability Committee, chaired by Kaisa Hietala comprises 4 non-executive Directors. The Committee met 6 times during 2022.

  • A. Anderson
  • L. Melgar
  • J. Buhl Rasmussen 

Download Policy – SKG Sustainability Committee Terms of reference